Local coffee shops

Have you ever found a place where your soul just feels complete? I don’t mean the feeling after a good sermon, but when you find something that resonates with who you are?

Well I found that place. And no, it isn’t church.

Don’t get me wrong, I grew up going to church and felt strong in my convictions, but the people and the atmosphere never brought continual emotion to me. It felt like it was the right thing to do.

Growing up and making the decision to not go to church anymore was like telling my mother her cooking was horrible (it’s not, but if I told her that it’d be scary). For me, music resonates with me.

I am sitting in my favorite coffee shop in town, surrounded by a multitude of different people all brought together by one thing: music.

This little hole-in-the-wall place is something else. You walk in and there is atmosphere. The coffee is an experience, the staff is great, and the guy playing guitar seals the deal.

It is not often that something moves me to write, let alone purge my soul, but all of this is simply breathtaking. To witness the human experience in action, to see people brought together to listen to a local band, well it’s simply magic.

The music itself is cool. There’s so much passion in the musicians’ eyes and you can tell they love what they do. They’re inspired by their love for music, not tainted by greed or the pursuit of fame. They love what they do.

The people here come in all different forms. There’s a guy here rocking his fedora and a cocktail, a guy rocking his frat-tastic clothing, and women in cardigans and dresses. It’s corny, but I love it.

I love introducing friends to other friends and seeing the human experience, it fills my soul.

This post was kind of a soul purge, but thank you for reading!

4 thoughts on “Local coffee shops

  1. What a lovely tribute to local talent… while I would not dream of missing my Christian meetings for anything, I can certainly understand your love of local colour and the pleasure of sinking into live music. Hubby and I just got back from Austin – live music capital of the world. It. Was. Awesome. I heard one ofthe best vocalists I can recall in a long time just doing a set, her and her fender electric, live in the Airport bar. It was incredible.

Let me know what you think!

